Lisburn SAFE members

We would like to congratulate our Community Safety Project Lisburn SAFE who recently received the ‘Making a Difference’ Award at Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council’s Mayor’s Community Awards (25th March 2021). The event was held virtually and was hosted by the LCCC Mayor and Pete Snodden. Invited guests attended remotely from their own homes while others watched online as the event was live-streamed from LCCC headquarters at Lagan Valley Island.

Lisburn SAFE Coordinator, Jonathan McMullan, said:

“Firstly, I would like to thank all our Lisburn SAFE volunteers for all their hard work and support. Whilst we do not seek recognition for helping others, we appreciate it when it is received as it shows we are doing it well. I would like to thank Resurgam Trust and all the stakeholders we work with regularly which are too many to mention individually. Lastly I would like to personally thank Mayor Trimble for all his support during his tenure as Lisburn’s First Citizen”

Speaking from the live event, Mayor, Councillor Nicholas Trimble, said:

“I feel honoured as Mayor to be able to recognise, in some small way, the contribution that our local heroes make in our communities. This past year has been particularly difficult for everyone due to the pandemic and these awards celebrate those who have embraced the challenges and made a difference to others. I commend their hard work and commitment. We are truly partners in the fight against COVID-19 and we have built lasting relationships that will deliver benefits long into the future.

I am delighted to have hosted our first ever virtual awards ceremony. We were determined that it would be a great night with live contributions from the award winners whilst keeping everyone safe. Even on screen, the energy, enthusiasm, and dedication of our community heroes was evident.

The work of local volunteers and organisations is truly inspirational. On behalf of the Council, I congratulate our winners and thank all of those who took part or who took the time to nominate community heroes.

Finally, I would like to thank our award partners, the South Eastern Health and Social Care Trust, Volunteer Now and the Education Authority for their continued support.”

Other winners on the night were:

Brian McDowell Volunteer of the Year Award – Hazel Thompson, Drumbo & District Community Association

Good Samaritan Award – Jane McCambley, Lisburn Golf Club

Youth Hero Award – Kirsty McKeown, Stoneyford Community & Youth Association

Pillar Through the Pandemic Award – Lisburn Foodbank

Building Bridges Together Award – Saint Vincent De Paul

Community Group of the Year Award – Ballybeen Women’s Centre

Mayor’s Choice Award – Lisburn Foodbank

More details on the event can be found at: